A Sad Affair

By Wolfgang Koeppen, Michael Hofmann

Set through the heady, pre-Second international conflict days of cabaret-era Germany, the unconventional centres on Sibylle - a gorgeous seductress who balances her amorous affairs with 5 males right now - and Friedrich, the callow, melancholic formative years who obsessively pursues her. initially banned via the Nazis for its frank sexual topics, Wolfgang Koeppen's first novel is showing in English. A romance that expected Beat literature by way of approximately 20 years via its dizzying language and exploration of informal love, this can be Koeppen's so much autobiographical and fun paintings.

Show description

» Read more

Only Begotten Daughter

By James Morrow

File Note: PDF is searchable picture OCR

Nominated - Nebula 1990, gained - WFA 1991, Nominated - Mythopoeic 1991, Nominated - Locus delusion 1991, Nominated - Campbell 1991

Murray Katz, the celibate keeper of an deserted lighthouse close to Atlantic urban, has been blessed with a daughter conceived of his personal seed and a holy ovum. Like her part brother Jesus, Julie Katz can stroll on water, heal the blind, and lift the lifeless. yet being the Messiah isn't effortless, and Julie, bewildered by way of her function within the divine scheme of items, is tempted through the satan and challenged by means of neo- Christian zealots during this full of life odyssey via Hell and New Jersey.

Show description

» Read more

Closing Time: The Sequel to Catch-22

By Joseph Heller

A darkly comedian and bold sequel to the yankee vintage Catch-22.

In Closing Time, Joseph Heller returns to the characters of Catch-22, now coming to the tip in their lives and the century, as is the total iteration that fought in global conflict II: Yossarian and Milo Minderbinder, the chaplain, and such newbies as little Sammy Singer and mammoth Lew, all associated, in an uneasy peace and outdated age, combating now not the Germans this time, however the finish. Closing Time deftly satirizes the realities and the myths of the USA within the part century considering WWII: the absurdity of our politics, the decline of our society and our nice towns, the greed and hypocrisy of our enterprise and tradition -- with an identical ferocious humor as Catch-22.
Closing Time is outrageously humorous and completely severe, and as magnificent and winning as Catch-22 itself, a fun-house replicate that captures, instantaneously grotesquely and safely, the reality approximately ourselves.

Show description

» Read more

Petroleum Man

Petroleum guy takes Swiftean malice and pleasure in exposing the self-esteem and frailty of a few of the main popularly held prejudices of our times.

Stanley Crawford’s first novel because the inventive and uproarious a few directions, Petroleum guy is a hilariously scathing satire that takes on either side of a few of the raging debates of our instances among democrats and republicans, haves and have-nots, trickle-down conservatives and bleeding-heart liberals, environmentalists and industrialists. Bewildered by way of the odious liberal democrat trends of his son-in-law Chip, Leon Tuggs, self-made arch-capitalist billionaire, inventor of the ever-present and environmentally dangerous Thingie , and writer of the influential normal conception of commercial intercourse comes to a decision to rescue his grandchildren from a lifetime of guilt, indecision, and existential anxiousness, through instructing them within the manner the area really works and telling them, for his or her personal reliable, the issues no instructor or mum or dad in our politically right and morally relative global may ever enterprise to assert. those lifestyles classes to his grandchildren are observed by way of presents: forged iron replicas of the autos that he has owned.

Show description

» Read more

First Contact: Or, It's Later Than You Think

“What a hilarious ride—the übersurreal meets The day-by-day Show.”
 —Tim Dorsey, writer of Nuclear Jellyfish< ?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

 

In the bestselling and rightfully cult-inspiring culture of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams comes First Contact—an hysterically humorous satire approximately Presidential politics and intergalactic false impression. This shrewdpermanent and biting novel via Evan Mandery—an writer both well-versed within the lives of the U.S. presidents, existential philosophy, and the Simpsons—offers a lot nutrients for highbrow suggestion besides an all-you-can-eat buffet of snickers, because it chronicles the 1st shut encounters among earthlings and a vastly superior extraterrestrial race from Rigel-Rigel. because the subtitle of First touch so presciently informs us, “It’s Later than You Think.”

Show description

» Read more

Android Karenina (Quirk Classic)

By Ben H. Winters

Experience and Sensibility and Sea Monsters co-author Ben H. Winters is again with an all-new collaborator, mythical Russian novelist Leo Tolstoy, and the result's Android Karenina an improved version of the vintage love tale set in a dystopian international of robots, cyborgs, and interstellar house travel.

As within the unique novel, our tale follows relationships: the tragic adulterous romance of Anna Karenina and count number Alexei Vronsky, and the even more hopeful marriage of Konstantin Levin and Kitty Shcherbatskaya.These 4, craving for real love, stay in a steampunk-inspired nineteenth century of mechanical butlers, extraterrestrial-worshiping cults, and airborne debutante balls. Their passions by myself will be adequate to devour them-but while a mystery cabal of radical clinical revolutionaries launches an assault on Russian excessive society's high-tech way of life, our heroes needs to struggle again with all their braveness, all their instruments, and the entire energy of a swish new cyborg version like not anything the area has ever seen."

jam-packed with an identical mixture of romance, drama, and fable that made the 1st Quirk Classics long island occasions most sensible dealers, Android Karenina brings this celebrated sequence into the interesting international of technological know-how fiction.

Show description

» Read more

The Illuminatus! Trilogy: The Eye in the Pyramid, The Golden Apple, Leviathan

By Robert Anton Wilson, Robert Shea

Ever questioned why there's a pyramid on a one buck invoice? Does the query of who fairly shot Kennedy (and who else was once attempting to yet didn’t be ready to get their photographs off in time?) nonetheless play in your brain? be troubled not more – The Illuminatus! Trilogy includes the solutions. The Illuminatus! Trilogy has been referred to as many stuff - a few think it to be a piece of underground technological know-how fiction genius, others think it to give an explanation for each conspiracy concept ever and a few imagine it is only very complicated. “Brimming with intercourse and violence” (all of it hugely interesting) The Illuminatus! Trilogy tells the tale of Joseph Malik who, as editor of an intensive journal, as been probing a bit too tough into rumours of a mysterious and historic mystery society who've been trying - and slowly succeeding – in taking up the area. Joseph has long past lacking and the places of work of his journal were bombed. On his tail his Saul Goodman a difficult, cynical detective who’s in simple terms want is to come again to his attractive spouse, final visible watching for him in mattress - bare. either males are drawn ever deeper right into a tapestry of mysteries scattered with impressive characters together with Fission Chips the British undercover agent, Hagbard Celine patrolling the oceans in his yellow submarine, various attractive girls, a number of gods, Billy Graham and Howard the Porpoise. An non cease curler coaster experience this ebook may switch your existence – or simply offer you an excellent snigger and anything to learn at the rest room.

Show description

» Read more

Pocket Kings

By Ted Heller

In this dead-on satire of on-line obsessions, a novelist with writer’s block unearths a new—and very lucrative—stream of source of revenue in a digital global that looks to provide him every thing he lacks within the actual world.

When Frank Dixon, a pissed off author who has obvious his profession crash and burn, comes to a decision to dabble in on-line poker, he discovers he has a knack for successful. during this newfound realm, populated by means of captivating characters—each of them elusive, mysterious, and glamorous—he turns into a wreck luck: well known, wealthy, and enjoyed. Going by means of the identify Chip 0, he sees his fortunes and romantic liaisons thrive in our on-line world whereas he continues to be unaware of the truth that his genuine existence is sinking. His on-line good fortune, although, doesn't come with out issues, as he involves become aware of that his “virtual” neighbors and fans are, actually, very genuine, and one rival participant isn't in any respect chuffed that Mr. 0 has taken all his money.

Heller’s cautionary story is consistently magnificent and startlingly genuine, a journey de strength of satirical storytelling within the vein of Jonathan Tropper and Sam Lipsyte.

Show description

» Read more

Answered Prayers

By Truman Capote

Even supposing Truman Capote’s final, unfinished novel bargains a devastating crew portrait of the low and high society of his time.
Tracing  the occupation of a author of doubtful parentage and omnivorous erotic tastes, Answered Prayers careens from a louche bar in Tangiers to a banquette at l. a. Côte Basque, from literary salons to costly whorehouses. It takes in calculating beauties and sadistic husbands in addition to such real-life helping characters as Colette, the Duchess of Windsor, Montgomery Clift, and Tallulah Bankhead. certainly, this malevolently finny ebook monitors Capote at his such a lot relentlessly observant and murderously witty.

Show description

» Read more

1 3 4 5 6 7 11